Enhancement to Partners Phone Directory PPD Paging Log
The Partners Phone Directory (PPD) has been enhanced to have additional authentication that will allow the recipient of a page through PPD to view the senders' names instead of just IP addresses. See the bullets below for when this additional authentication is needed. Although we strongly encourage users to authenticate before sending a page per the scenarios outlined below, you can cancel the login and still send the page; while the IP address will be logged, the sender's name will not.
For all Partners build desktop PC's this should be transparent; the senders' names will be recorded in the recipients' logs without any additional authentication.
Off the Network (no VPN connection):
For pages sent from Macs, Partners Mobile Builds, and non-Partners build PC's, logged into the PPD from the Internet (no VPN) at http://www.partners.org/ppd; the senders' names will also be recorded in the recipients' logs without any additional authentication.
On the Network (at work or with VPN):
Non-Partners build PC's and Partners Mobile Build PC’s using Internet Explorer will be prompted to authenticate when attempting to send a page. If you don't login, the recipient's log will show your IP address, not your name
Non-Internet Explorer browsers (e.g. Mac Safari and Mac & PC Firefox), can only send pages non-authenticated - the recipient's log will show IP's unless the user has first authenticated to another PPD function like editing their profile.